Christine McVie rejoins Fleetwood Mac on Australian tour On with the Show | Sydney Morning Herald

The Sydney Morning Herald
George Palathingal

The dreams of thousands of Fleetwood Mac fans – not to mention key estranged member Christine McVie – will soon be coming true: the valued singer, songwriter and keyboard player will be rejoining her ex-husband John McVie and their fellow MacMembers Mick Fleetwood, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, for a series of dates in Australia and New Zealand in October and November.

The rumours are true – Fleetwood Mac are back: (left to right) Mick Fleetwood, Stevie Nicks, Lindsey Buckingham, Christine McVie and John McVie. Photo: Matt Mindlin

The rock royals had to cancel their sold-out 2013 Australian tour when John McVie was diagnosed with cancer but the bassist has since made enough of a recovery to play live again – hence this tour’s title On with the Show. At the time Christine McVie was still no longer officially in the band she had left in 1998, but had rejoined them onstage in London for a one-off performance of Don’t Stop (which she wrote) mere months before John’s diagnosis.

Christine told The Guardian at the time, “I like being with the band, the whole idea of playing music with them … If they were to ask me [to rejoin] I would probably be very delighted.”Well, they finally have and they’ve been touring North America to great acclaim, with a set said to include close to two and a half hours’ worth of hits.

Fleetwood Mac: On with the Show Australian tour dates

Thursday, October 22; Saturday October 24 – Allphones Arena, Sydney
Friday, October 30 – Domain Stadium, Perth
Monday, November 2; Wednesday, November 4 – Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne
Saturday, November 7 – Mt Duneed Estate, Geelong
Tuesday, November 10 – Brisbane Entertainment Centre
Saturday, November 14 – Hope Estate Winery, Hunter Valley
Wednesday, November 18 – Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Saturday, November 21 – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland
Tickets on sale at 10am, Wednesday, April 1.

See www.livenation.com.au, www.livenation.co.nz, www.adayonthegreen.com.au and www.fleetwoodmac.com.